New Texas Symphony orchestra presents American Sketches

Oct. 20

3 pm

Travel to the American West with the Grand Canyon Suite byFerde Grofe.


Experience the rugged beauty, sounds and mystique of the Grand Canyon through the voices of the orchestral instruments and unique percussion sound effects (like coconuts!).



Celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Harlem Renaissance with William Grant Still’s Symphony No. 1 (Afro-American Symphony). Written in a traditional classical form, it incorporates jazz, spirituals, and the blues, and even has a part for a banjo!



The concert will also include


Fanfare for the Common Man, Aaron Copland


Concerto for Marimba and Strings, First Movement, Séjourné


Porgi amore, from La nozze di Figaro, Mozart



Special guest artists will be CCAC winners Carlee Abschneider and Kirstyn Norris Alarcon.


Moody Performance hall

2520 Flora Street


Ticket Info: