Meadows Symphony Orchestra: Danielpour, Prokofiev and Copland

Sept. 27 and 29

Friday at 7:30 pm and Sunday at 2:30 pm

The Meadows Symphony, led by music director Paul Phillips, opens its new concert season with Richard Danielpour’s Celestial Night, a 20-minute piece inspired by summer evenings of stargazing in New England. It will be followed by Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 1, featuring faculty member Catharine Lysinger as piano soloist. Prokofiev performed the lively, concise, melodically rich work at his graduation from the St. Petersburg Conservatory in 1914, winning the school’s concerto competition. The concert concludes with Aaron Copland’s Suite from Appalachian Spring. Drawn from the ballet depicting a young couple in rural 19th century Pennsylvania that Copland created for Martha Graham in 1944, the suite has become one of the most famous compositions of this iconic American composer.  


Caruth Auditorium – Owen Arts Center,

6101 Bishop Blvd.

on the SMU campus,